Presenting the 2012 SDD-3KP (SDD-3000 Preamp Pedal)

Posted: 2012/10/03 in DIY Guitar Effect Pedal Projects, SDD-3000 Preamp Clone

Well here it is, the latest incarnation of the SDD-3KP preamp pedal:

I’m quite pleased with the final product.  There are some subtle improvements to the enclosure that most might not notice (real “detail” stuff…) but that improve the overall look and fit. Happily I can also say that all backorders have now shipped out…  Many thanks to everyone who participated in this build.  I do hope you enjoy your SDD3000 preamp clone through a nice AC30 or Ac15 type tube amp.

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    Thanks again for a great pedal, Dave. combined with the fa-2, my tone quest is over for the Edge’s base sound. Fabulous work!

  2. ANdrew says:

    I run this with my SDD2000 and its sounds amazing. I just leave it on most of the time.

  3. David P says:

    I just plugged in my sd3kp today. WOW, sounds very nice. I think I like it more than my OCD overdrive. One question, the remote jack… that is just for a simple small foot switch so the main pedal can be put “back board” or somewhere less accessible?

    • trabantland says:

      Thanks David! Yes, with the remote feature you could place the SDD further back on your pedalboard, or, if it was on a pedal shelf you could control it with a single cable instead of a placing it in a loop. It uses a latching control like the Boss FS-5L.

  4. David P says:

    I have to apologize… I feel a bit guilty, I covered up your autograph on the bottom when I put Velcro to stick it on my pedal board. Seriously love this pedal, the only thing I would like to change (besides smaller box) would be potentiometers instead of 3 position switches. Its not that big of a deal as I found the settings that works well with my setup. Thanks again for a wonderful pedal.

    • trabantland says:

      You’re welcome..well one of the reason for the fixed value attenuators is it gives you the ability to dial in exactly the same settings as on the SDD-3000 if desired. With pots you would always be guessing. Fixed resistors are also superior when it comes to noise etc.

  5. Mike McGlynn says:

    Where is the link to order one of these pre-amps?

    • trabantland says:

      Hi Mike, I haven’t put up a direct link yet but anyone can contact me through the Contact/About page. Best Regards, Dave

  6. Jon C says:

    The pedal sounds amazing, Dave! Thanks so much for the great work.

  7. Jeff Brown says:

    Dave…where would you recommend i place this in the chain of effects?? i bought mine a year ago thanks..Jeff

    • trabantland says:

      Jeff, I would place it near the end of your signal chain. For instance, I run things FX pedals -> SDD3KP -> Delay -> Amp or FX pedals ->Delay -> SDD3KP -> Amp. Dave

  8. David Fix says:

    Dave, do you have any of these pedals left? If not can i get in on the next run? Thanks

    David

Leave a Reply

