Important Info about Powering your SDD-3KP… DC Only Please

Posted: 2010/10/08 in DIY Guitar Effect Pedal Projects, SDD-3000 Preamp Clone

Quick bit of info for those just receiving your pedal – when plugging it in be sure to check that your adapter puts out 9V DC and not AC power.  Applying AC power to the pedal is not good, and may release the  smoke monster from LOST…  Someone recently received a pedal and had this experience:

“I plugged the power line from my POD X3 Live and the unit immediately began making a loud buzzing (bad sound/sign) – after 5-10 seconds to get it unplugged I could already smell an electrical burn smell.  Have I killed my new toy?????  I have now read the 9.6V DC Max on the unit and realized the POD adapter is AC.  I looked and think all of my adapters are AC.  If I haven’t killed my pedal, where would I find a DC adapter that will work correctly with the pedal?”

The SDD-3KP does have a polarity protection diode that may  prevent the damage from being catastrophic, but please double-check your adapter before you use it.  (Many adapters for Line6 products such as the POD and M13 put out AC and not DC.)  The SDD-3KP will be fine with typical DC power supplies used for pedals with center negative polarity, such as the Boss PSA series, One Spot, or Voodoo Labs Pedal Power 2 Plus, etc.  Just power it like a small Boss stompbox (SD-1, CS-3, etc.) and it will be happy.

 

 

Comments
  1. eg4fun says:

    HOW AND WHEN CAN I GET MY HANDS ON ONE OF THESE BAD-BOYS,
    YOU HAVE DONE AN AMAZING JOB WITH THESE PEDALS, I HAVE A SDD3000,
    BUT ITS NO PRACTICAL TO USE ONE ALL THE TIME, SMALL GIGS ETC,
    ALL THE BEST
    CHRIS.
    ENGLAND.

    • trabantland says:

      Hi Chris, Thanks for you comments. You can contact me through the Contact/About link.

      Best Regards,
      Dave

  2. Phil Marston says:

    The SDD-3KP is one cool looking pedal.

    Cheers,

    Phil

Leave a Reply

