Enclosure issues… and first assembled pedal!

Posted: 2009/09/30 in DIY Guitar Effect Pedal Projects, SDD-3000 Preamp Clone

Since my last posting, things have gone slower than I would have hoped… At the beginning of the month I completed a design for the enclosure, and sent it to a place that  does drilling and powdercoating of enclosures.  It was my hope that by going this route I would speed the process up (since I am building more than ten of them), but it turned out to take much longer than I expected.  When I received the enclosure (below),

DSCN7000

the holes were not positioned as precisely as I expected, and because the PC board I designed has a lot of board-mounted components, when the holes are not perfectly aligned the board will not fit.  I also wasn’t thrilled with the  paint job, which seemed to chip rather easily.  However, they were nice enough to take back the enclosure and are working on re-drilling another one for me.

In the meantime, because the process was taking so long, I decided to go back to drilling the holes myself, so I ordered a pre-coated New Sensor 1590 enclosure from  Small Bear Electronics.  Again, I’m not thrilled with the finish (a little too lumpy IMO), but at least I was able to drill it quickly and produce a completed box!:

DSCN7181

DSCN7189

DSCN7192

DSCN7204

So what I’ve decided on doing after all this is to get some unfinished boxes from Small Bear, drill them myself, and then have them powder-coated locally by a shop, as I think the end result will be nicer than these pre-finished boxes (though with everything assembled, I think the pre-finished box doesn’t look half-bad).  Some valuable lessons were learned, and though the build process is a few weeks behind schedule, it is moving along now.

Comments
  1. andronus says:

    🙂 you’re in the middle of production experience !

Leave a Reply

